Accessibility Tools

Dr. Everhart is a fellowship-trained orthopaedic sports medicine surgeon with highly specialized expertise in hip arthroscopy and hip preservation. He provides a full spectrum of minimally invasive procedures to treat pain on all sides of the hip including the front, groin, side, and back of the hip (gluteal pain). He treats a variety of disorders including hip impingement (femoroacetabular impingement), acetabular labrum tears (hip labrum tears), hip dysplasia, hip bursitis, avascular necrosis, nerve irritation around the hip (piriformis syndrome and related conditions), athletic pubalgia, sports hernia, snapping hip, chronic tendinitis, and acute hip injuries. For young patients with hip arthritis, he can provide a thorough assessment for treatment options other than total hip replacement.

Dr. Everhart completed his medical education and orthopedic surgery residency at the Ohio State University. He completed further fellowship training at the prestigious Cleveland Clinic. He is an accomplished clinical researcher and is a recognized scientific expert in his field. He has won multiple research awards and has published over 100 scientific papers, invited editorials and book chapters. He is on the editorial board for Arthroscopy, one of the premier arthroscopic surgery journals, and regularly provides invited peer reviews of studies submitted to the Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery and the American Journal of Sports Medicine.

Dr. Everhart is also an experienced team physician. He has provided sports medicine coverage at the high school, collegiate (Cleveland State University and Notre Dame College) and professional levels (Cleveland Cavaliers, Cleveland Indians, and USA Gymnastics).

Employment History

2020-present. Assistant Professor, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Indiana University School of Medicine.


  • August 2019-July 2020. Orthopaedic Sports Medicine Fellowship, Cleveland Clinic Foundation.
  • July 2013-June 2019. Orthopaedic Surgery Residency, The Ohio State University College of Medicine
  • June 2012-August 2013. Masters of Public Health in Clinical & Translational Science. The Ohio State University College of Public Health
  • August 2008-May 2013. Doctor of Medicine. The Ohio State University College of Medicine
  • August 2004-December 2007. Bachelor of Science, Biology. The Ohio State University

Medical Licensures

  • State of Indiana- active/current. License # 01083959A
  • State of Ohio- active/current. License # 57.023842
  • NPI # 1063857613
  • Orthopaedic Surgery Board Eligible. Passed ABOS Part 1 07/11/2019

Professional Society Memberships

  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
  • American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
  • Arthroscopy Association of North America
  • Osteoarthritis Research Society International

Honors and Awards

  • 2020 AOA Annual Meeting Top Poster Award: Sports Medicine, for study “Different Meniscus Repair Implants Create Differing Micro-Tear Patterns”
  • 2020 MAOA Annual Meeting Dallas B. Phemister Physician in Training Award for study “Positive Reframing: An Important But Underutilized Coping Strategy in Youth Athletes Undergoing Sports-Related Knee Surgery”
  • 2019 ICRS Annual Meeting best e-poster award for study “Predictors of poor pre-operative psychological status in cartilage defect patients”
  • 2019 ORS Clinician Scholar Career Development Program (CSCDP) attendee. Sept 19-21, Rosemont, IL.
  • 2019 AOSSM annual meeting ON Foundation Orthoregeneration award for study “Platelet-rich plasma: does it decrease meniscus repair failure risk?”
  • 2019 ON/AOSSM Education Grant recipient
  • 2019 AANA J. Whit Ewing Resident/Fellow Research Award for study “The Risk of Extrusion: Insights on Meniscus Tear Patterns from the Osteoarthritis Initiative”
  • 2019 AANA resident scholarship recipient
  • 2018 Runner-up, Arthroscopy Journal Award for Resident/Fellow Research Excellence for study “Bacterial Deoxyribonucleic Acid Is Often Present in Failed Revision Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstructions”
  • 2018 AANA J. Whit Ewing Resident/Fellow Research Award for study “Femoral nerve block for ACL reconstruction causes lasting fast quadriceps activation deficits and may increase contralateral injury risk”
  • 2018 MAOA best poster award for study “High Grade Cartilage Defects at Time of ACL Reconstruction Affect Post-Operative Rehabilitation and Quadriceps Strength”
  • 2018 MAOA Resident educational grant recipient
  • 2013 John B. Roberts, MD Award for excellence in orthopaedics as a medical student
  • 2012 OSU College of Public Health Graduate Enrichment Fellowship
  • 2010 OSUCOM Community Service Award
  • 2009 OSUCOM Roessler summer research fellowship
  • 2008-2012 OSU College of Medicine Dean's scholarship
  • 2008-2010 Ohio Board of Regents graduate fellowship
  • 2008-2012 Grant Munro health sciences scholarship
  • 2008 OSU Nominee, Jack Kent Cook Foundation Graduate Fellowship
  • 2007 Member, Phi Beta Kappa
  • 2006 Winner, Denman Undergraduate Research Forum
  • 2005 Scholar-athlete award, OSU Men's Varsity Track and Field
  • 2004-2007 OSU Medalist scholarship
  • Indiana University Health
  • International Cartilage Regeneration & Joint Preservation Society (ICRS)
  • Osteoarthritis Research Society International
  • American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine
  • Arthroscopy Association of North America
  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons